How is DUI Determined?
A combination of alcohol and narcotics (legal or illegal) can cause an individual to be "under the influence." If you are arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania, the police will ask you to take a breath, blood, or urine test. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher, and you are convicted of DUI, you can expect:
If you are under 18 years of age, your parents will be notified of your arrest and you may also have a juvenile complaint filed against you within 5 days and may be adjudicated delinquent.
You may be ordered to the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition Program, if you qualify and are older than 18 years of age. If you do not qualify, you could be sentenced to 48 hours in jail. Your driving privileges could be suspended for one year if you refuse to take a breath or blood test.
Some DUI offenses may be charged as misdemeanors but felony charges may be pursued if the incident caused death, extensive property damage, or serious injury, or if the individual charged has had several prior convictions for the same offense.
A person accused of DUI is subject to a test of sobriety which is a blood or breath-analyzer test. Penalties can include fines, suspension or revocation of one's license, incarceration, mandatory attendance at DUI schools, community service, probation, and installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device.
Regardless of whether you are a first time offender or someone with multiple convictions, Attorney David J. Eckle can help. He has more than 25 years' experience and knows how to navigate your ideal legal defense no matter what the charges. Depending upon your specific circumstances, he may be able to establish that a DUI felony charge should be reduced to a misdemeanor or possibly dismissed. Such a reduction could be crucial to maintaining your driving privileges and your freedom.
Contact us in Monroeville, Pennsylvania, to learn more about our DUI attorney who also specializes in estate planning at (412) 373-9004.